Sacramento California DUI Lawyer – First DUI Defense
California law enforcement are working hard on catching drunk drivers behind the wheel of a vehicle. DUI check points, increase in police vehicles during weekends and holidays, all are geared toward getting drunk drivers off the road.
It is not a good feeling to see flashing red and blue lights behind you when you know you have a few drinks with your friends not too long ago. All the bad thoughts start running through you head. You pull over, the officers walks up to your window, asks for license and registration, then asks “Have you been drinking tonight?” You are then asked to step out of the car, and required to perform a field sobriety test. Then you are asked to breath into a breathalyzer, and wait a few seconds while it calculates your blood alcohol level. You need the help of an experienced Sacramento DUI lawyer.
If it is your first DUI there are three avenues that you need to keep track on (1) Court process, (2) Department of Motor Vehicles process, and (3) Insurance consequences.
Conviction of drunk driving for the first time can carry potential penalties of:
- informal or summary probation for three to five years;
- up to six months in county jail;
- fines in that could amount from $390 to $1,000.00;
- three to nine month court-approved alcohol and/or drunk education program; and
- six to ten month driver’s license suspension.
However, keep in mind that while the fines can go up to $1,000.00 but convicted drivers can generally count on an additional penalty assessment fee that’s 3 times that number. Towing fees, treatment fees, court costs, restitution fund fee, it all adds up.
After you are arrested the police officer will take away your driver’s license. You license will automatically be suspended by DMV for a period of 30 days. Contacting DMV after your DUI arrest is crucial. You have only 10 days after your arrest to contact DMV to request a hearing to request a restricted license. If you fail to do so your license will be suspended for 1 year.
Additionally, expect your insurance premiums to go up. If you receive a restricted license, you will be required to obtain an SR 22 coverage from your insurance agent. SR 22 labels the driver as a “high risk” driver. Not every insurance agency provides SR 22 coverage, and those who do charge a high premium.
Further, if you are granted a request for a restricted license you will be required to obtain an Ignition Interlock Device (“IID”) on every vehicle that is in your name with the Department of Motor Vehicles. This also comes at a price, the installation costs alone can range from $50 to $200. This fee may be more if you have a luxury vehicle or if installation takes longer. You are also required to make monthly rental payment for the IID which ranges from $50 to $100 per vehicle. You will also be responsible for scheduled maintenance of the device (calibration) , at an average every 60 days.
Failure to do so may result in a violation of the interlock program, or even worse a wrong reading by IID which will potentially can carry a charge of a second DUI. If you have been arrested for a DUI contact our Sacramento DUI lawyer and we will guide you through the legal process and make sure you get a fair evaluation. You need the help of an experienced Sacramento California DUI lawyer, contact us for free consultation.
There’s no substitute for a strong Sacramento California DUI lawyer, call Wing & Parisi at (916) 441-4888.
Law Office of Wing & Parisi
Sacramento DUI & Criminal Defense Attorneys
917 G Street
Sacramento, CA 95814, USA
April 7, 2015
The Law Office of Wing & Parisi serves clients in the Sacramento and Davis communities as well as throughout
Placer County and San Joaquin County. Hablamos espanol.