Most of us drive everywhere we need to in the state of California, so car accidents are inevitable. There are generally two types of hit and run cases in California: those pertaining to death and those pertaining to damage of property only, the former being a felony charge and the latter being a misdemeanor. In order to be convicted of a hit and run, the prosecutor must prove: that you were involved in the vehicle accident while driving, that the accident caused damage to someone else’s property, that you knew either that someone else’s property had been damaged or that the accident was of such a nature that it was probable that another’s property was damaged.

It’s important to understand that you can still be convicted even if you stopped after an accident if you failed to provide the required information. If convicted you can face up to 3 years of informal probation, up to 6 months in a county jail, up to $1,000 in fines, restitution to any victims involved and receive two points on your driving record.

There are a couple important things you need to know about hit and run accidents. You can be charged with a hit and run even if the accident was not your fault. It is a crime to leave the scene of an accident involving either property damage or injury without providing your contact information to the other driver. Even if you think the other driver was at fault, the law requires you stop and provide contact information.

But you are justified in leaving the scene of the accident if you are leaving to seek necessary medical attention for yourself or someone else. You can also be charged with a felony hit and run even if the only person injured was your passenger. And you can be charged with a misdemeanor even if there was no vehicle damage. Any type of damage can trigger the statute, including damage to a fence, mailbox or another person’s pet for instance. If you are dealing with a hit and run conviction, consult with an experienced attorney to see if any defenses are applied to your case.

There’s no substitute for a strong criminal attorney, call Wing & Parisi at (916) 441-4888.

Contact us online or call at (916) 441-4888 for a free and confidential initial consultation, available in Spanish. We appear in state and federal courts in the Sacramento and Davis communities as well as throughout Placer and San Joaquin counties.

Linda Parisi
Law Office of Wing & Parisi
917 G Street
Sacramento,CA,95814, USA
(916) 441-4888

The Law Office of Wing & Parisi serves clients in the Sacramento and Davis communities as well as throughout Placer County and San Joaquin County. Hablamos espanol.