DUI Lawyer in Sacramento CA – DUI Penalties
Driving under the influence is taken extremely seriously in all states, but even more so in California. First DUI penalties are as follows: 3-5 years of Court probation; a fine, including court fees and costs up to $1800; 6 month loss of California Driver License; DUI school, which is dependant on your blood alcohol level; and mandatory jail time of 48 hours with a possibility of work service instead. Some counties in California also require the installation of an ignition interlock device on their vehicle for 5 months. The penalties for a second DUI are similar but worse: 3-5 years of court probation; a fine up to $2800; 2 year loss of license; 18 month DUI school; and mandatory jail time of 96 hours. If arrested for a DUI call a DUI lawyer in Sacramento CA at (916) 441-4888 for free consultation.
When someone has a third DUI the penalties include: 3-5 years of court or formal probation; a fine up to $2800; minimum 3 years of license suspension but could be up to 10; DUI school; and mandatory jail time of 120 days. If reaching a fourth DUI, it may be considered a felony DUI. Punishment for these types of cases are severely worse and can include up to three years in state prison, permanent loss of license and a lot more. These penalties are the minimum. If there were any intensifying factors involved, like a child in the car, speeding, driving on a suspended or restricted license, an accidents, the penalties are much worse.
There’s no substitute for a strong DUI lawyer in Sacramento CA,
call Wing & Parisi at (916) 441-4888.
Law Office of Wing & Parisi
Sacramento DUI & Criminal Defense Attorneys
917 G Street
Sacramento, CA 95814, USA
April 7, 2015
The Law Office of Wing & Parisi serves clients in the Sacramento and Davis communities as well as throughout
Placer County and San Joaquin County. Hablamos espanol.